picking the right kayak

I am just getting started with paddling. Is there a kayak that can be used in the ocean as well a lake and river? I will mostly be dong class 1 and 2 river but maywant to use the same boat when I visit the Fla Keys. Thanks.

Ocean Kayak Prowler 13
Try an Ocean Kayak Prowler 13 sit-on-top, good for rivers and the ocean.

kayak for rivers and oceans
Hi there,

Typically kayaks that are better suited for big open water are going to be longer and have a more narrow beam (not as wide). They will be designed to cover distance more efficiently, and so they will track straight very well, and will be designed to handle big water. Typically a “sea kayak” will be 16’-18’ long.

Depending on your rivers, a sea kayak MAY be okay, but if they are small, twisting or require quick maneuvers (as some class II rapids would), then it would be difficult to turn the kayak quickly enough to maneuver.

You might find a compromise with a 14’ or so kayak that would be sea worthy enough for the ocean, but still maneuverable enough for rivers, but you start getting compromise in both conditions.

The other option listed above is rather than a SINK (sit inside kayak), you might go with a sit on top. If you are in the southern climes, this might be more appealing than if you are up north and will be traveling south (although there are folks who use SOT’s year round even in colder areas). It will depend on what type of kayak you are interested in.