Pigmy vs. CLC

Hi guys!!

I’m ready to put together a kit, and was wondering if anyone could give me their comparisons if any, of Pigmy Artic Tern Vs. CLC Chesapeake LT17. Ease of construction, handling, chined deck vs. arched deck and comfort. Demo’d Chesapeake17LT, and it still felt big. I now have a plastic Cape Horn 17. I’m still a beginner to an intermediate paddler. I have a decent onside roll.

My thought…
When I made a decision to do a Pygmy the deciding factor was the shear line. To me Pygmy’s was easier and better looking. I wondered why most CLCs had a painted hulls and shears. I had once done a tortured deck and didn’t want to do another.

Now, I have seen great looking, natural finished CLCs and I commend those builders.

Don’t limit yourself to the Big Two
There are many S&G kit makers out there, and they may have models that better fit your needs. I know that when I searched, neither Pygmy nor CLC had kayaks that were 16’ and narrow.

Go to www.kayakforum.com if you have not already done so, and start reading. There are lots of S&G models, many ways to accomplish the same thing, and many ways to make mistakes. I know of the latter, because I made a lot of them! But fewer than if I had not begun studying that site and reading it daily.

Be warned that some (all?) Pygmy kits come with a ThermaRest pad for a seat, which I consider appropriate only in a rec kayak, and not too good for that either. Check what any kit includes, because it might not have things you want.

pygmy boat seats
I too have been considering building a Pygmy

boats model-the Arctic Tern 14, but noticed

the thermarest seat. What other options are

there for seats in these boats?

I chose CLC…
over Pygmy because…

CLC includes everything you need to build a boat in the kits. Pygmy considers things like hatches to be “accessories” so you have to buy them separately. This mattered to me because I was building a kit–may not matter as much to people building from plans.