Places for a novice to paddle in CT

Very new to paddling. Just took the plactic wrap off the kayaks and are eager to get started.

Looking for a good place in Connecticut for a pair of novices to go.

CT
Im new in CT this year also.

I am in the Danbury/Lake Candlwood area. Have been on the Squantz Pond, Bantam River, and Candlewood. Candlewood is fun early am or late afternoon but certainly not weekends.

Bantam River is a lot of fun. Very peaceful. Exactly why I started this hobby!

forgot to add this link
http://www.hvpaddleclub.org/index.html

Paddling on Cape Cod

– Last Updated: Jun-24-05 10:04 PM EST –

I know this is not in CT, but last summer, my family (we live in Wyoming) paddled on the Cape. One 11 year old novice, a 14 year old intermediate, mom novice-intermediate, and ol'dad (me) advanced-intermediate(Whatever those titles might mean!!); and my daughter-in-law, who had never been in a kayak.

Snake Pond, just east of Otis AirBase, was a nice easy place with easy access, and pretty.

Waquoint Bay and connecting bays/channels was a great place for a longer outing, and there were a number of novices out that day. But parking can be difficult; but worth it.

We also paddled in Cape Cod Bay just south of the Canal jetty. Parking not difficult, nice restaurant and pleasant beach. Be mindful of the wind speed and direction; don't get blown to the Azores. AND don't get into the Canal!!!!

newbe
I suggest this book, “Quiet Water”.It will tell you alot about diffrent lakes and rivers to paddle in Ct,MA,RI. I found it very helpful.

Shoreline