Places to kayak in Acadia NP

-- Last Updated: Jan-23-06 6:24 PM EST --

I'm a novice kayaker and have a recreational kayak. My wife will be renting. This summer we are planning to visit Acadia National Park for the 2nd time in 3 years. This time we will not only bike/hike but will also kayak. I've searched back on the forum archives but couldn't find a good thread on this topic:

What are some 'must-kayak' in the park? I think the Somes Sound will be one and it is convinient since we will be camping at the Mt. Desert Campground. I prefer to stay away from rough water (high boat traffic) since we're both novices and prefer to do a bit of sightseeing where we can see the park and its wonders from our boat as well as possibly see some of the park's creatures.

If it helps, we will be visiting for a week July 22nd - 29th.

Mount Desert Island/Acadia National Park
My wife and I will be at Mount Desert Campground from the 15 to the 22 july. We were there for a week last summer and we had a great time paddling. We paddled the Porcupines, Seal Cove, Hadley Point/The Ovens, and Somes sound.

There are several books available detailing paddle trips in the area, and you can try contacting the Mount Desert Island Paddlers kayaking club.

Follow the link to see some photos of the area…

http://community.webshots.com/album/404266907hDoxfD

Paddling MDI
If you are paddling a rec boat, I would hesitate to send you out to the Porcupine Islands and places like that. The Porcupines (for example) are just a short crossing from Bar Harbor – but conditions can (and often do) kick up in a hurry and make for a difficult and harrying return… Still there is plenty of good protected paddling: Somes Sound, Northeast Harbor, Echo Lake, Jordan Pond, and Long Pond are all very scenic. Several companies offer tours if you want to do something more ambitious.

Try Jordon Pond