Planning a Canoe Camping Trip

I am the editor for my local club’s newsletter, so I’m always writing stuff that I might be able to use. My latest is on planning a canoe camping trip.

I debated whether I should call it planning a “wilderness” trip, but I lot of the stuff that we do around here isn’t exactly wilderness, so I went with canoe camping. It is a pretty good outline of what we usually do, but I’d be interested in what others do. What types of trips do you do, and what are the critical things that you think about when planning a trip.

I would talk less about the camping part and more about logistice such as shuttles, staying together, how to share camp duties, and emphasize safety. Most people that are interested in a canoe trip know how to camp. What is new are logistics, paddling, sharing duties and on the water safety. Good luck. I have been leading trips for 50 years.

1 Like

Nice basic write up. Good for a beginner. Not at all how I do it but it is probably what I should do. You really eamphasized planning ahead which is probably the smart thing to do but actually I’m pretty lax about a lot of that. Sometimes when I have the rv I have to really plan out the rv campsites out ahead of time (reservations). Mostly though I excel at winging it, suffering needlessly and liking it.

What critical things do I think about? Are permits required, special rules, access, parking, campsite availability? Shuttles, Time of year (weather, water levels, bugs, crowds) type of boat, distance, and difficulty (portages, ww, wind) and water treatment.

The people aspect and the camping isn’t a big deal to me. Can I do the trip with what I already have? How much is it going to cost? How dangerous is it?