Planning an RV Trip - Advice Needed

Hey all!

First time posting here but couldn’t really find another active community and was hoping you guys would be able to help.

This summer, we’re planning to do an RV trip over four weeks (relocation deal) from Chicago, going down south and finishing up in Vegas.

We’ve never been kayaking before apart from a few small tours but with the amount of lakes on the way, thought it might be a fun hobby to pick up while we’re on the road.

Been doing some research and stumbled upon clear bottom kayaks - they don’t seem super popular here but does anyone have real-life experience with them? How often would we actually be able to see something or is it only something that’d be fun in the tropics?

As an alternative we were looking into kayak fishing but that would come at a much higher cost for the trip as we’d also need to buy fishing gear and I’m not sure how easy/comfortable that’d be for complete beginners?

What other gear would we realistically need (on a bit of a budget) - I’m assuming drybags, and maybe something to help transport them from an RV?

Any and all recommendations, ranging from gear to destinations are much appreciated!

Thanks ahead,
Karl

What kind of RV?
Rented?

It’s a relocation deal from a company called Apollo, we don’t know exactly which model until they give it to us in person.

Basically as far as I understand, they’re all brand new and instead of paying for transportation to sell them to the West coast, they rent them out at a discount to people like us and we’ve got to get it to their other office by a certain date.

There are many more RV questions you haven’t thought of yet.

New RV transport usually means you can’t use the RV or it becomes a used RV. Get it to the office by a certain date? As a 150 night a year RVer I have reservations about that deal.