plastic or glass

I know this is a question probably left up to the idividual but I’m a newbie as far as touring but I have been paddling whitewater for the last 25 years. I want to buy a long boat in the 17’ range something for overnighters and up to week long trips. How likely is it that I’ll buy a plastic only to realize next year that I want a glass boat?

depends
depends on which plastic boat you get.

A solid boat like the Prijon Kodiak, then no, you wouldn’t be compeled to replace it with glass.

Plastic
I think everyone needs a plastic boat for poking around shallow areas that you wouldn’t want to go in a composite boat. Later when you have more experience you will know what type paddling you like and will make a better choice on a higher end boat. You will likely still use your plastic boat even after you buy the composite for certain type areas.

depends
on whether you have an extra few thousand dollars in your pocket next year, or you picked a particular kayak this year because your choices were narrowed to one but next year you find three choices. Not enough data.

It might not be a year, but
eventually you might want to go faster and that would translate to lighter weight which would translate to composite.

If a lot of your paddling will be in shallow Class I rocky rivers stay with the poly boat.

If you are paddling a couple of days a week and it is mostly deeper water and you can afford the composite I would go with the composite.

The progression from short poly rec boat to long poly sea kayak and then to long composite sea kayak was the route that I traveled, and I still use the first two several times a year although the latter is the one that gets used the most.

Cheers,

JackL

I agree, having just gone throught this