Please help me and my dog

I am very new to kayaking. All I know is that I love it, and that I love being out on the water. I want to buy a kayak that I can take my 50 dog in also, so that the cockpit needs to be big enough for her to fit into also. I am a beginner and a female, so I would need a kayak that is easy to maneuver and not to heavy. I just want to use it on a flat lake or very slow river. I am mostly interested in using it for exercise,spending time with my dog, and nature watching. Can anyone please give me some suggestions as to what kayaks I should buy. I also am a student so I really don’t want to spend that much money, especially since I am not sure how much I will be able to use it. I was looking into the Dirigo 140, anyone have any other suggestions or ideas? I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you

Recent Topic
Here’s a link to a recent post with a similar inquiry:

http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=advice&tid=699444

Best of luck in finding the right boat.

The Dirigo is a nice kayak. But, the
140 may be a bit heavy for you. The 120 also has a large cockpit and is less expensive. If looking at sit inside recreational kayaks, also take a look at the Wilderness System Pamlico and Pungo families. The Dagger Blackwater may fit the bill, also the Perception Acadia, just to name a few.

Dog paddling