Polylink/Superlink PE Repair

Hi,

I’ve been looking for a solo canoe since spring. I thought Buffalo Canoes in Ark. was making me one but all I’ve gotten is the run-around. I was previously looking at the OT Pack and the local Dick’s had one for $549 in May that’s of course gone now. I need a smaller boat to car top on a two door Blazer and it needs to fit in my garage without taking up most of the room of a car. I just sold Buffalo’s equivalent of the Discovery 158 for those reasons. Also, I’m a whitewater kayaker and I like a boat that turns sharper even if it’s not as fast. I’ve been stuck on Royalex because everything I’ve seen says it’s easier to repair than the other plastics. So, what’s the real story with Polylink/Superlink? Can it be successfully repaired? I’ve been looking at the “Field & Stream” 12’ canoe that they now have at the local Dick’s but am apprehensive about it being a “throw away” boat once it gets wear/damage. I’ve been paddling for almost 30 years so the chances of my crashing the boat are minimal but there’s also the question of wear-through from shallow shoals. This boat would never see anything above a Class II, it’s strictly for tame rivers, anything higher gets my whitewater kayak.

The “Kay-Noe” is only $399 at Dick’s right now and I can’t decide whether of not to pull the trigger.

Thanks ahead for any comments/suggestions. :slight_smile:

There are epoxys
that do stick to Polylink/Superlink OT boats so they can be repaired. In fact you can now purchase skid plates kits that use this epoxy (name of the vendor currently escapes me).

The “Field and Stream 12” looks to me to be what used to be sold as the Discovery 119. Having had a Disco 158 for over 15 years, I have found them to be very tough boats and mine gets tons of abuse. I know plenty of canoe liveries that use Discoveries and even Guides (which do not look to made as well) and get years of use out of them. I would not categorize PolyLink or Superlink boats as “throw aways”.