Prijon, 2 people in a 1 person yak?

Hello,

I have a feeling I’m going to get jumped at on this, but I’ll ask anyway.

I’m completely new to kayaking, I will buy a Prijon kayak in a couple of weeks to use in Malta (open calm summer sea). I’ve got two questions:

First is Prijon related : I’ve read that Prijon kayaks are very good, I was initially thinking of buying the the Marlin but tried it and felt that the wave controlled the boat when in sure. So I’m thinking of the SeaYak - The dealer suggested the Marlin anyway - What would you go for?

I’ll host a lot of people back home and was wondering if it is possible to give a 30min ride to someone in the back hatch (bum on deck, legs in hatch)? This is where I expect the pounding… :slight_smile:

Best

Ian

Very, Very, Dumb

Try it
If you can manage to paddle upright with someone sitting on the deck, you are better than 99.8% of the paddlers on this board. On the other hand, you might stay upright for a few seconds…

Alan

id just
convice freind to get a kayak to or get a 2 seater

Told you I’ll get pounded!
Ok, Thanks for your answers guys. I’ve only been in a kayak (the Marlin) for 3 hours… I’m just asking.

Forget that part of the post, does anyone know about Prijon Marlin and Seayak?

Thanks again

user reviews of both
This blogger paddled both the Seayak and Marlin and reports on them (look at his list on the left to click on the review of the Marlin a few days before.)

http://100boatsin100days.blogspot.com/2009/06/day-60-prijon-seayak.html

He describes both boats as having overly spacious (wide and deep) cockpits for his comfort and control. If you aren’t a bigger guy, that might be something to keep in mind.

what are your options?