Prijon Barracuda Right Boat for Novice?

Hello! This is my first time to this site. I’m new to kayaking but I’m enjoying it more each day. I’ve been out on a kayak about 8 times. I recently took three 3 hour courses that covered basic paddle strokes, assisted capsize recovery, solo capsize recovery, and and introduction to bracing and edging. I recently bought my first kayak, a used, but like-new Prijon Barracuda http://www.mec.ca/Products/product_detail.jsp?PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524442618650&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374302700757&bmUID=1216756280102 but I’m not sure if it was the best choice for my first boat. It’s described like this on the Mountain Equipment Co-op website: “This is a sleek, graceful kayak designed for superior speed and high performance. The hull is a modified trihedral with a slight V-shaped bottom. This shape complements the stiffness of the High Performance Thermoplastic (HPT)

to make this an exceptionally fast touring kayak.

It’s a great choice for kayakers who want a fully outfitted technical touring kayak that’s well-suited for day paddling, fitness, recreational racing, and multi-day excursions. Designed for beginner- to advanced-level paddlers.”

My choice of paddling is on the various coastal inlets around Vancouver, but I hope to paddle around the various Islands on both sides of Vancouver Island. Being a beginner, I’m still not very confident with my bracing and dealing with even moderate waves, such as those from the wake of passing motor boats etc.