Prijon Embudo questions

Hello I am new to kayaking and purchased a prijon embudo online. Upon buying the kayak I had to fix some oil canning areas but that wasn’t hard. I seem to however have a problem to where I am going fine and then randomly start spinning in circles.

I love kayaking and live in a great area for it. The Pacific Northwest (Oregon)

I think this may have to do with my paddling technique.

Ideas?

Go find an ACA or BCU instructor at a local kayak shop and take a lesson or two. It will jump start your paddling skills and you will probably meet other folks with whom to paddle.

That’s not going to happen as 3 classes would cost as much as a kayak itself. Anyone have any useful information?

I looked into this and the classes are booked for weeks and price is ridiculous.

Perhaps my paddles are too long? Boat is 8ft 3inches long and paddles are 220cm. Is this a problem? I find it very annoying and shocking that there really isn’t any sites that have any input as to what should be done. Most just say it depends on your style and type of kayak and goes into zero detail.

No one? Guess I’m
Back to the drawing board. I will learn by trial and error.

What you have bought is a boat designed for white water, meaning it is meant to twist and turn in tight rapids, not track well for distance paddling. Spinning is what it is designed to do. If you look up reviews of it, it is intended for extreme waters up to Class 5 and going over waterfalls. Is that what you plan to do? It can be made to track straight but would require lessons to refine technique because you need to fight the rocker (curve built into the hull) — if the oil canning is severe that will also impair tracking. As with any sport, you are really not going to learn good form without in person instruction.