Problems with Prowlers.

I sent the letter below to Ocean Kayak and then Faxed it. One Month and no answer. Don’t be a fool buy a Tarpon.

I have been paddling for about two years in borrowed Kayaks and My Tarpon 120. I started on canoes almost 20 years ago. Most of my paddling is for fishing in the intercostals area of Florida. I have been in Pungo’s, Loon’s, Malibu’s and Tarpon 120 and 140. I have never had a Kayak that required earplugs until I purchased a Prowler 15. The hull slap scares mating alligators much less red fish or bass.

My Tarpon 120 was a joy to outfit. I have added pad eyes, directional anchor lines, anchor and pole anchors, bow and stern rod holders, depth finders, dual position paddle holders, Front “milk crate Catcher” (Milk Crate between the front hatch and the foot pegs) and dealer installed the rudder. All of these I have complete faith in because they are nylock nutted with stainless steel fender washers reinforcing the composite haul. This is possible by the three haul access hatches one on front, one mid and the rear hatch.

Now I have to fish out of a milk crate on the prowler because there is absolutely no access to the rear of the top deck from underneath to mount any accessory, which requires a substantial mounting system. I would be limited to nylon rivets, which leak and have no real mounting strength.

I was lead by some internet articles to believe the prowler was a fast vessel. I think the haul noise fooled them or they were shills for your company. I can get five MPH on my Tarpon 120 and six MPH on the prowler as measured by the same GPS. I am using the same paddle and in the same water. The differences are on my Tarpon I can hear speedboats approaching.