Public access to rivers?

Hi – I’m new to canoeing and new to the US. In the UK, rivers tend to be managed by public utilities (eg Thames Conservancy) and public access is pretty open, but what’s the situation here? Might I be trespassing if I drop my canoe into a river anywhere I find what looks like a put-in? There’s a couple of really attractive-looking, slow-flowing, rivers nearby, but I don’t see any info about them on paddling.net so should I assume they’re private? Any advice welcome, I don’t want to end up in court! (Suggestions for quite river locations within 30 miles or so of Milford, MA welcome too) Thanks.

No such thing as a private river in US
If the rive is navigable you have the right to use it. Put in-s are another thing. Just about any place that a public road crosses the water is a good put in but parking is the real problem. You need permission to park on private property or you may return to find your car has been towed away. Check the American Whitewater web site for more info on access, they are the leaders in gaining access to our public rivers. There have been many court cases about whos property you can cross when paddling and they all boil down to this. American rivers are public domain and as long as you can float a boat you have the right to use the water. A farmer my own the land that the river runs through and he may even own the bottom of the river but he can not legally stop you from passing through. Go for it…

The situation varies from state to state

– Last Updated: May-31-04 10:15 AM EST –

and in Georgia, for example, many obviously navigable rivers are classed as non-navigable. A recent state supreme court decision held that an owner of both banks owned the bottom and COULD stop paddlers from passing down an apparently navigable stream.