Pungo 120 for a beginner?

I have never kayaked before, but I would really like to learn this spring. A friend of mine broke up with her boyfriend, and now she is selling his kayak that he used maybe 5 times. It is a Pungo 120 she bought new, and will sell it to me for $400. This seems like a really good price so I don’t want to pass it up (even though I’ve never used it or kayaked before), so I’m wondering if I should just buy it now.

Originally, I wanted one of those really short kayaks like a whitewater kayak, mainly because it looks like you’d be able to easily maneuver them and you could transport them more easily, but since I’m a beginner, I’m guessing that would be a bad idea and they’d be harder to use?

I’m 6’, 195lbs. I’m pretty much only be using this kayak on a river near my house which is fairly calm. Thanks for any advice.

Buy it
That’s a good boat especially for $400. Pungo’s are very popular with beginners.

Pungo better than WW boats
Most beginners like to get from point A to point B in a pretty straightforward fashion. That is not what WW boats are designed to do - they turn all over the place.

If you want to add things like rolling to your repertoire, the Pungo won’t help. But for just paddling around on flat water without doing anything fancy, the Pungo’s do a decent job.

Pungo 120
The Pungo 120 is great beginners boat for lakes and slow rivers. $400 is a fantastic deal. You won’t regret the purchase at that price. In a year or two, you might want something faster, but you’ll get your money back if you sell the Pungo on Craig’s List.

what they said…
a good deal fer shure, but more importantly it’s a good boat for what you describe. The Pungo family is very user-friendly and might suit you a long time.

good luck.

steve

Buy It