Pungo 120 or 140

I am looking to upgrade to a Pungo 120 or 140 for camping. I am split between the storage of the 140 and maneuverability of the 120. I have very little experience camping and don’t even have basic gear yet but I hope to do 2-3 day trips with my 75 pound lab and possibly wife too in another boat. I plan on mostly doing rivers in northern Michigan (up to 3mph, some sections getting up to class 2, some described as “quick, tight and sharp bends”, some calmer rivers) and maybe some calm lakes as well. Which length do you recommend?

Thank you

not a great choice
The Pungos have vastly oversized cockpits which makes them unable to support a sprayskirt. This means they are unsuitable for whitewater. They are designed for “recreational” paddling which means flatwater ponds and low current rivers.

They are also relatively wide and flat bottomed which means they are not particularly nimble for the directional changes and lumpy water of rapids. Furthemore, the 120 doesn’t have dual buklheads and will sink if swamped unless you you use an inflatable flotation bag in the hull bow.

Honestly, Pungos don’t belong in class 2 waters and are certainly not an “upgrade” if that is your intention. There are better choices for what you are planning. If you are planning on hauling the dog you would be better off and safer in a canoe or a sit on top. There are also some hybrid kayaks that offer some safety features for mild to moderate whitewater, but these also sacrifice some performance on flat water.

First things first

– Last Updated: Sep-21-16 9:55 PM EST –