Pungo 140 or Dirigo 140???

I am a rookie and am purchasing my first kayak. I will be using it primarily in the mid atlantic area on lakes, resevoirs, and slow rivers for general enjoyment, fishing, and photography. I will occasionally take my young son with me for short outings - and coupled with the other purposes stated above - thought a good rec kayak with a larger cockpit would suit my needs. I seem to have narrowed my choices at this point to the Pungo 140 and Dirigo 140. Any thoughts you all might have on these would be much appreciated. THANKS in advance.

Flip a coin
Dirigo is a better fishing kayak, though the difference is insignificant.

Pungo or Dirigo
Yeah I agree. I fish out of a Dirigo(120) and love it but I’ve heard nothing but good things about the Pungo.

small opening
i was looking for a kayak that can take me and a small child and the only concern i had with the dirigo is the dashboard. it cuts into the vertical space where your legs and feet goes and it seems a little cramped to me.

with a child sitting in front of me, facing forward, my concern is that in the event of a capsize, our legs may get stuck in the cramped space and that may prevent a quick and clean exit.

it may not be true but that’s the concern i had. i ended up buying a sundance 14, which has worked out really, really well for me.

Reply: Pungo 140 or Dirigo 140??