Pungo storage on it's side?

Just got my new Pungo 140. The manual clearly states you should not store it on its side on the floor. What’s up with that? I’ve been storing my Perception Sundances like that for several years, in the garage, on an old rug, on the floor against the wall, tilted at an angle. My dealer who sold me the 'yak said I’m doing the correct thing, contrary to what is in the manual.

Comments?

From the WS website
How should I store my kayak?

The best way to store your boat is on end, upside down or on its side. Don’t hang it by the grab loops, and don’t store it in direct sunlight. The color can fade and the plastic can lose its suppleness because of prolonged exposure to sunlight. Use a cockpit cover to keep dust and critters out. Harmony has a Yak Rack made of webbing which is designed to make storing your kayak easy.

However…
the new owners manual states on page 6…

" storing your kayak resting on it’s side on the floor can cause a flattening or deformation of the side of the hull."

Slings
If you have the space, many hang their kayaks from slings. Motorcycle tie-downs or ratchet straps work well for this. You could just keep it where it is and support the kayak with tall wooden blocks a few feet in from the ends. Carpet or foam scraps help cushion the hull. Anything to keep all the weight from resting on one spot.

Might be a Pungo issue

I agree
Most boats are fine stored on their side, but others may not have the lateral strength to do so, as a compromise for eitehr design or lightweight construction. I wold guess that this is primarily an issue only if you store it on a hard surface. I use an old lawn-furniture seat pad under the boat, which distributed the weight better and discourages any deformation issues.

-rs

Soft material?

– Last Updated: Apr-17-08 9:35 AM EST –

If the Pungo is anything like the WS Tsunami 145 I bought, you should be very careful how you store it and how you tie it to your roof rack as well.