Purchase advice

I am looking for some advice. I live in upstate New York and have decided to purchase a kayak. I have some experience on flatwater and local streams. I am looking for a kayak that I can take on flat water and and some of the local tributaries. Thus, I need something that can handle both flat and fast moving water. I have friends who recently purchased kayaks and quickly outgrew them. Any ideas for a boat that meets my need and that I can grow into?

greenpaddle… I might as well ask you

– Last Updated: Mar-25-06 12:11 PM EST –

now, because others will and they are right... what is your height, weight, leg length, IQ and income.

(Okay, I'm kidding about the IQ and income. But some advisors will want to know your budget too).

Where in upstate?
Depending on where you are, you may be near a paddle group that you could get involved with to both rent/try out different boats and talk to a lot of paddlers about what has worked for them. For example, there is an ADK paddle group of the Albany/ Schenectady chapter that will be starting evening paddles in a month, and a local paddle shop that sells and rents out boats for thees paddles. The paddles are on local calm rivers, are set up in pods based on likely pace, and are a good way to get some basic experience and try out different boats.

Purchase advice
6 feet, 200 lbs. I would rank myself beginner to intermediate. $1,500 is probably my ceiling. However, I am looking to buy a kayak that will suit my needs and not have me wanting to upgrade in 6 mos.

Purchase advice

– Last Updated: Mar-25-06 2:26 PM EST –

Between Buffalo and Rochester, New York. Any groups in that area? I have heard Oak Orchard is a good spot.

I have a Wilderness Systems