Purchasing my first whitewater kayak

I’m new to whitewater kayaking. 5’6 - 130 lbs and intend to use on class I-III rapids. Not interested in playing, but more getting down river, catching eddy’s and skill development. I’m between the Dagger Katana or the Pyrahna Machno. Any sound advice would be welcome.

1 Like

Full disclosure: I only have first hand experience w/ the Dagger Katana (10.4).

That said, it seems that the Katana & the Machno each focus on slightly different aspects of whitewater.

The Machno seems like a unapologetic, straightforward, whitewater river runner; fit for class lll & above.
Whereas the Katana, is most definitely a crossover hull, w/ a drop down skeg that allows one to ably paddle any rivers from class l–lV.
It’s slightly over-sized whitewater hull dimensions, coupled w/ ABUNDANT bow & stern interior volume allow for multi-day, self support excursions.

Following those parameters, the Machno will hands down perform better whitewater action. While the Katana will allow you to paddle the same boat from class l–lV; albeit as a master of none, so-to-speak.

Quick thought, have you looked @ or considered the Dagger Greenboat? That boat has always intrigued me(!).

Best of luck on your kayak research! :v:t4::call_me_hand:t4:!

Image below is the end of day 1 of a 3-day, 2-night, 35mile, multi-day float; everything is able to store internally w/ room to spare behind the seat.
image|666x500

Thank you. I will look into the green boat and keep doing some research. I’m new to this sport and it feels like that first year when I purchased a mountain bike. I wasn’t quite sure what I needed and grew out of that bike after the first year, but it was still a great experience.

1 Like

Right on, I know the rabbit hole you speak of, lol.
My most recent one is for a gravel bike after not having ridden in years!