Purchasing our first Kayaks

Hi there,

We are new to Kayaking and have been shopping around at various local stores. I would prefer to shop local but I have a couple of questions.

1. The local shop has a 2013 and 2014 Pungo 120 and they offered us a price for $1425.00 plus tax for both of them. I am new to this and am wondering if that is a fair price for a 2013.

2. Is the Pungo 120 stable enough for someone just starting out kayaking?

Thanks for your help.

It would probably be pretty difficult to
flip one by accident. Very stable boat.

A new kayak at a dealer’s shop isn’t going to depreciate just because it’s last year’s model.

Hello fellow Michigander
We just purchased a 2014 Old Town Camden at Franks Great Outdoors, just S of Pinconning for 675. Goos deal I think, they have a sale going on till the 4th. They also had Dirigo there for around the same price. I am not affiliated in any way FYI.

725 ish is about average for an older model rec. kayak. Buy something good so you only have to buy once. Dont forget paddles and PFDs. That can add 300+ easily to the price.

decent price
That seems to be a decent price. A quick check on Google shopping shows that $850 and up seems to be the going price for one boat.

You said this is a first kayak and didn’t ask about whether these are appropriate - so it is quite likely you have been through this thought process and know what you want. If so, feel free to stop reading.