Putting a Kayak on a Truck

Hello,

I don’t know if this is an overworked topic on this board. I am relatively new to the sport of sea kayaking and wanted to enlist the aid of those with more experience than I. I have two basic questions. Both concern putting an 18’ Kayak on a Ford F250 Crew Cab Shortbed without a Camper shell.

One: Without inflaming the Thule vs. Yakima debate, what are peoples thoughts on the selection of Pick-Up Truck Racks available out there. The up/down adjustability of the Thule looks semi-useful. The rigidity of the Yakima looks, well, rigid. Trac Rack makes a cool looking rack, but then what do you do for saddles or rollers. I’ve seen several other alternatives but without knowinng more about them I really feel like I’m guessing.

Two: Suppose that I use a Bed Rack, do I also use a Crossbar on the roof? That is to say; An 18’ boat centered on the Bed Rack would hang the stern about 6 feet past the back of the tailgate and leave the bow somewhere above the front of the sunroof or the windshield.

If I put a crossbar on the roof I could move the boat forward by half the distance between the new bar and the front bar of the Bed Rack. Right? Tell me what I’m missing. Is there a Truck Rack FAQ that I haven’t found?

Jason

WEELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL…
I don’t know much about truck racks, but I can tell you what a friend did. He built the racks like a square bed elevated to roof level out of 2x4’s. Cut a couple rounded notches in the cross pieces and lined them with foam. Then did almost the same with from the front end of the truck with aluminum tubing. The yak had full support from the front of the truck to the tailgait. A couple of eyelets for the bungee chords and it was fine. (Toyota 1 ton. 15’yak)

Trac Rac