Pygmy Opsrey HP and Coho

I’m located in the Tampa Bay area, built the Pygmy Artic Tern 14 a few years ago and am looking to build either the Osprey HP or Coho next. Does anyone in the area own one of these models that I can look at and/or try?

anyone have a review?
If I build, this is my first choice.

I’ve heard…
that the Osprey is about Pygmy’s best boat. This from a friend who has built both the Osprey and Coho.

I have no personal first-hand knowledge of their boats.

reviews
Check th “product reviews” on this site. The kayak builder’s forum is also a great place to get information on kit boats.

http://www.kayakforum.com/KayakBuilding/index.shtml

I demoed a Coho several years ago and liked it, but it’s a big boat. The Pygmy designer enjoys long paddling trips, and most of his boats reflect that.

I have built
the Coho and an Osprey double. I am happy with the speed and handling of the Coho. Yes, there may be some commercial boats out there a little less beamy. QCC is one. John Lockwood does design his boats for tripping so they are a little wider but I have never found that to be a deterrent when I am out with other paddlers. I can cruise between 3 1/2 to 4 mph depending upon the conditions. She will go faster if I have the strength to maintain the effort. If you look at the Models page on the Pygmy website you will see the difference between the Coho and the HP. One inch less beam will make the HP a little faster. I also believe, but do not know for sure, that the waterline length is a little longer because they don’t post that information for the Coho. If that is true that is another plus in the speed department. You might call and talk to them. Just exactly what that will mean to you in a trip is unknown.

As far as building either kit I don’t think one would be any easier/better than the other. And either one is going to get you a lot of comments from paddlers and the general public.