qcc 400

I am still pretty new to kayaking I have a zora sport which I really like. However I want to move up. The QCC 400 has really could my eye.

Iam 5.5 145lb and 55 years young. My question is this would this be a good fit for my size. I am thinking about driving up to see if I can test one of these before I buy.

Ask Phil
at QCC kayaks, he will know.

QCC Selection
I am about your size and age and have a 400 and love it. I would like to be a 600 kind of person but every word on the web page for the 400 in the description and the comments told me the boat was me:

http://www.qcckayaks.com/kayaks/model.asp?model=q400x

See this as a starting point:

http://www.qcckayaks.com/kayak_selector.asp

If you then request a consultation, they will call you.

Ask Phil
he will direct you to the proper sized kayak for your build. You will probably be matched to the 400,600 and 700 if speed is more of a requirement for you than stability.

I have had the 400x for 2 years and it is a nicely made boat. Perfect for day trips, camping trips, fishing, photography, etc. It will keep up with the longer touring boats if you do alot of club paddles. It will not be faster when they get into sprint mode, however.

The boat with about an extra 100lbs of food/water and equipment (I weigh 160) does not feel sluggish at all and it is very easy to paddle and keep a 3.5 mph touring pace for miles. The boat does not need a rudder even in higher winds. It adds about 5lbs to the boat weight. I got it to help control drift when fishing tidal rivers.

Great kayak
The most important thing is to think hard about where you want to go with kayaking. If you want to get into skills development (BCU/ACA) or rolling, then you may consider starting with the 600. It will challenge you as a beginner but you will never grow out of it.