QCC 700 Sprayskirts

I would like to get the most current recommendation for a sprayskirt for the 700. Although I am a novice and stay on a small lake that has only geese to generate waves, I am looking into a sprayskirt. Here is what I have been looking at. I expect to go with neoprene for a tighter fit and be more water tight. I believe they are warmer.

Snap Dragon Ocean Trek

Snap Dragon Glacier Breathable

Either one of them
in medium fits on the 700 well.

Only diff

– Last Updated: Apr-09-08 1:59 PM EST –

I have a Glacier Breathable for one boat and a Snapdragon WW skirt with a neo tunnel. I think that they are both reinforced around the edge now, so that's the same. (Though my older not-reinforced Glacier is hardly showing any damage from rescue practice.)

The biggest difference I see between these two is that the first has an all-neo tunnel and the second a breathable fabric tunnel with a velcor collar around the waist. The neo tunnel, if it fits you nice and tight, will probably be slightly more waterproof in the face of a lot of rolling than the other one. But are you planning to be doing enough of that for a while that a slight diff in how much water gets into the cockpit matters? Probably not. Even in my WW boat, which is one of the wetter rides around in these things, it takes about 45 minutes of steady sideways and upside down in the pool before I really feel like I have to get out and dump water.

A properly tight neo tunnel will have you doing a really interesting shimmy to get the thing on, and you may find that you have to regularly get the skirt wet fist in order to get it around your hips. This isn't big stuff, but some might find it annoying unless there is a feature of the neo tunnel that is critical for their paddling. You may find that to be the case down the road, which will argue for the neo tunnel. Right now, either would do.

fabric tunnel