QCC Hatches

Anyone out there have problems with their QCC hatches? I’ve had my boat for 3 years and just recently did some surf lauches. On one my hatch came off and on another the straps came off but at least the hatch stayed on. Needless to say, I’ve lost some confidence in the system. Has anyone tried some other form to secure the hatches? Is the velcro just getting old after three years of use? I never was too confident with the velcro, but I’ve never really put it to any test before. Appreciate any advice.

Mark Sanders

Hi Sandmarks
Call Phil at QCC. I think they are using a different system to secure the hatches now.

Good luck.

Franklin

Newer System
I have had two Q’s for about 18 months. They both have straps and buckles to secure the hatches.

I have been practicing surf launches and landings for about the last two months on nice days. I have lost count of the number of times I’ve been dumped. No problem with the hatches at all.

Happy Paddling,

Mark

velcro?
my 700 is close to a year old now and where is this velcro you speak of? must be older design, but even with newer design the hatches are not waterproof…through winter rollins sessions every other week, no loss of hatch but always a bit of water inside…

velcro/straps
When I purchased a used one from QCC I asked if it had the old style velcro or the newer straps.

They sent a new set of buckle type straps with the boat and I swapped them out in about 15minutes. Give them a call and get the buckle style.

I have a newer 700
It has the fastlok buckles. I put a bungee between the deck lines just ahead of the front hatch to break up waves coming over the bow. I also put “d” weatherstrip on the underside of the hatch cover that hits the flat on the edge of the hatch. Doing this keeps out most of the water from waves. I still get some from rolling but that’s because I spend more time floundering than rolling.

SYOTR

Randy

Velcor