Qcc seat replacements

I have a new to me QCC 500XL, and a Sea Knife tandem, that I’m looking to replace the seats in. I have a bad back in the lumbar area. Does anyone have any sit in, seat replacement recommendations? All I’ve seen so far are for sit on top kayaks.

Current Designs seat with revolution seat back. You can also install a wide base seat depending on your size.

Lots of options all the way up to custom built.

I have one of these. Always been quite happy with it. Depending on your own personal fit needs, this might be a good “base” on which to start? It might even be able to switch between boats? Depends on your needs. For touring it’s good. If there’s a big focus on rolling, rock-gardens and surf it probably won’t fit your needs.

Creature Comfort Seat

You’ll certainly get lots of suggestions here!
Good luck.

1 Like

Custom is certainly an option too. I’d look at it like getting orthotics to solve foot problems - if you need it to function, it’s worth it.

Here’s an example of what’s possible:
Custom Seats

Or start with a carved out base and build from there:
Seat Base

The QCC has a backrest that’s a little more substantial than a backband but it’s not very stiff. The support is similar to a backband. There’s a rigid, composite seat pan with a combo seat pad/backrest on top - sort of like the backrest used for many sit-on-top kayaks. If you find the seat pan comfortable and just need better back/lumbar support, perhaps you can find a sit-on-top seat that gives better back support.

1 Like

I’ve got a Redfish seat on order right now - hoping to get it in the next few weeks. I’d be happy to give you my thoughts once I have some “butt time” in it.