Question about Chota mukluks

Newbie here with what I hope is not the stupidest question of the day…

My Chota mukluks came with a large piece of neoprene in the box. What is its purpose?

neo patch
I use it for making repairs when needed

Sole Pads
I used mine to make a set of insoles that I then glued in place.

In frigid conditions the insoles add a great deal of insulation.

I didn’t get one with mine.
Maybe I should write them.

Speaking of Chotas…
how waterproof are they and how well does the cinch strap “retard” flooding if you happen to get the tops under water. I paddle a SOT and I have been considering these mukluks for some time --perhaps to go on my Christmas list.

my experience

– Last Updated: Nov-22-05 9:26 AM EST –

It depends on how much time you need to get out of the water, or at least into water below tops of the Chotas.

I get about 5-7 seconds before the water starts to creep in and about 20 seconds before a lot of water is in. With my dry pants on and also cinched, I probably get about 30 seconds before water creeps in and around a minute before there is a lot.

Just a guess, but I'd say those with larger diameter legs would get more time than I do since there is a puckered area on my Chotas when cinched. That is most likely the primary source of my leakage.

Water Proof…
…they live up to that so long as they are undammaged…I get more moisture from wearing my Thorlo’s in them.

completely waterproof
Below the strap, so much so that I forgot to even mention it in my previous post.

Clarion is right
I have oak tree-sized calves, a tight fit in my size-11 Lights. I find that very little water intrudes - in fact, as I submerge my leg, water pressure forces air out of the mukluk, making it cling tightly to my leg.

I was initially worried that I had bought one size too large, but I installed innersoles which provide extra warmth and most importantly, cushioning (as I said these are the Light models).

Jim

thanx for the info