question about photo websites

I currently have Canoe Zoom Browser software on my computer, and was considering posting my photos to Photobucket, Webshots, or Picasa, etc. for the ease of posting them either here or other forums.Do I need to go with one or can I post right from my current software? I’m thinking some forums require one of the above. My question is this: Do these photo sites allow others to pirate your photos? Is there some mechanism to prevent this. I’m not being snotty, I’m not a professional photographer, but do have some really nice shots and wouldn’t appreciate some lazy stock photographer using my pics to make a profit. Probably sounds paranoid, but I do remember someone posting here a while back mentioning that photos they’d taken ended up showing up in places they didn’t authorize. Just wondering.

Leigh

If it’s on the Internet…
… it can be stolen. Plain and simple.

preventing photo theft isn’t easy
the best thing to do is put the appropriate metadata in your images and register your images for copyright protection. You still own the copyright without registering the images. But, if someone uses a registered image illegally you can get a lot more money from them for use of your image. If you find some one has used an image that is registered to you then send them an invoice for the use. Remember to charge appropriately - at least $5000. Be sure to take screen shots of the illegally use as well - just in case it does go to court.

I have had three images used illegally. The first time I asked them to stop using it - they complied. The other two times I sent them invoices. One company paid immediately, the other went to court - I won big time. It might not seem worth the hassle to go to court, but the images were stolen and someone else was making money off of my work.