Question for bent shaft touring users:

Hi,

I have read all the many posts on this subject and think I want to buy a bent paddle. I’m new to kayaking but I can feel it in my wrists already.

I paddled the last 4 of 5 days doing 5, 7, 2, 3 miles each day. I have had problems with my right wrist ocassionally in the past. My stroke is OK (I think) as I am not getting blisters and hold the paddle loosely as the books indicate. Maybe not enough rotation all the time. I just went from feathered to un-feathered and that seems to help. Its early enough for me to feel good either way.

I do not know anyone that has a bent paddle and before I go ahead and buy one I’d like some feed back from other users. From what I read, AT seems to have a really strong following. Much more so than Werner or the others. Has anyone went with an AT only to change to a Werner or lendal bent later on?

Thanks!

AT Exception

– Last Updated: Jun-22-04 4:11 PM EST –

I found a great reduction in arm fatigue (fingers, wrists, forearm and elbows) when I switched from a straight shaft to an AT. I believe that my form was getting better at the same time, and I was getting more torso rotation as well, so that might have been part of the improvement.

This past weekend I used my Lightning Standard for about four miles. The most noticable difference was the less comfortable shape of the Lightning. AT really has the shaft cross-section dialed in for good ergonomics.

I have not had the opportunity to use a Werner crankshaft. I have "air paddled" with one, and the bends seemed to be rather extreme compared to the AT. Good shaft cross section, though.

I didn't pop for teh carbon model, as I was cheap and was worried about damaging it. I like AT's so much now that I will probably buy a carbon model next year as a reward for losing weight.

Jim

An additional thought: the second bend in an AT shaft brings your elbows slightly closer to your torso, a very happy position.

Gear