Question for paddle builders Re:Glassing

So this is for the canoe paddle builders who have glassed their blades (esp. you, Mr. Ornstein:D).

Assuming 4oz cloth and epoxy, how much weight do you find glassing the blade adds to the (still unfinished) paddle?

Do you use the typical wood/wetout/fill schedule, or do you alter application in some way?

Keep in mind, I have no vacuum bagging equipment, and I am not a pro with glass by any means.

It’s just I have this paddle that I have been on again off again with, and it’s got 33 laminations. I know, overkill, it started just as a “because I can” thing. I don’t really want to snap the blade with the amount of overall work that’s gone into it, but it’s already on the heavy side @26.5 oz.

I left more meat up at the shoulders, so I might just glass the first 6" or so of the blade.

Anyway, shoot away with whatever advice/suggestions you have.

I made a GP from WRC and it was so

– Last Updated: Dec-09-08 9:42 PM EST –

soft,I glassed the blades. One layer of epoxy;just enough to wet the cloth.Beautiful paddle.I can't say how much weight it adds,but very little.Foxworx does their canoe paddles like that.

Blade glassing
Unless you’ve got a blade so thin thats it’s not structurally sound, 4 oz cloth is overkill. Full glassing on both sides with 3 oz cloth would add about 4 oz to a 8"x20" blade and about 6 oz to a larger blade. I do a epoxy resin tip and glass the bottom 4" of the blade on both sides with 2.3 oz cloth and this adds about 3oz to a blade. Pictures are at http://outdoors.webshots.com/photo/2405626060079678560rOuIrC?vhost=outdoors

And I have no control over all the pushy webshots adds going on these days.

More glass- less wood
A lot depends on how you will use a paddle but I have found that 2 oz. glass works for me. I once weighed a paddle before and after the glassing, I can’t remember the exact numbers but it was minimal (about 2oz, I think).