Question for you excercise physiologists

What will a person burn more calories from and get the most benefit from:

A twenty five mile bike ride at a 18 to 20 MPH pace or a eight mile paddle at a 5 MPH pace.

I equate them as about equal, but was wondering what the experts say .

cheers,

JackL

Is that 8mi. paddle in
an Epic surf ski or an 8’ punkin seed?

I’m No Doctor, but…
…I learned to practice taking wild guesses.

In terms of calories burned, how about monitoring your heart rate during exercise? I’m thinking the higher heart rate, the more O2 used & therefore more calories burned.

My 2 cents
but the larger muscle groups used the more energy required.

Joe

My Guess
I also think they’d be nearly equal. Maybe a good bathroom scale would tell the story… if you took in and passed equal amounts of liquid.

Calories
OK,

College was a long time ago…let’s see what I remember. Most of the charts that compared exercises included rowing, which is a lot different than paddling a canoe. My guess (without access to a calorimeter large enough to contain a paddler, canoe and river) is that bicycling uses more calories than paddling. Heart Rate and Calories don’t always correlate. Weight, Metabolism (Resting Metabolic Rate), Work (Force X Distance), etc. I seem to remember a regression to calories per pound per minute of exercise. Rowing and Cross Country Skiing were the highest on the chart. Both use many of the larger muscle groups. The key is how much muscle mass is actively recruites in the activity. I doubt you will find a study of calories burned in paddling specifically, but according to my five year old who knows everything, Cycling is the clear winner…However, it is much harder to get run over by an semi in a canoe!

Racing bike vs epic endurance

– Last Updated: Apr-12-05 8:48 PM EST –

60 pound three speed vs a 700 what's the boats. I'd bet a 20 mph pace non drafting is more aerobic than a 5mph paddling on a 21 pound bike vs a Q 700.

don’t know