Question on cockpit covers

Ok I am new to kayaking. So I just got a Seal cockpit cover to keep out whatever when it sits or rains… Can you leave the cover on when car topping and traveling? It has a strap that goes completely around the kayak… Wondering

I do with mine especially if it’s a long trip. You should get a little better gas milage as well as keep the rain out of your boat. I suggest you fasten your cockpit cover to your boat or rack so, should it come off while driving, you won’t lose it.

I use J-cradles, and if I position the boat just right I can usually catch either end of the cover under the straps. Of course, I clip it to a deck line on the boat too.

Yes, best for traveling. Put a cabineer (corrected) thru the grab loop, l know our Seals covers have one, and to a bungie. It can flap around but not get lost.

Thanks for quick reply!!! It has a loop that the strap goes through when strapped around the kayak, not sure that loop is strong enough when goes 70 on the interstate should the cover pry off. Just wondered if they pry off in the wind. I would not think so I just do not have the experience. So ask first! Thanks

@Celia said:
Yes, best for traveling. Put a cabinet thru the grab loop, l know our Seals covers have one, and to a bungie. It can flap around but not get lost.

Boy, that’s a big grab loop! :wink:

Thanks Sparky. I bet I would get pulled real fast if that was possible.

@Celia said:
Thanks Sparky. I bet I would get pulled real fast if that was possible.

Carabinier

Thanks string too. Cell phone typing.

LOL… Third time’s a charm?

“Carabiner”

Which was not in my phone’s list of suggested words, and is flagged as a spelling error despite being correct.

Sorry to nitpick. I was mostly just having fun with it but this sort of thing does really stand out to me. It has become much worse with phones and the impossible touchscreen.