question on Current Designs Squamish

I read the reviews on the squamish and I’m interested in hearing other opinions on this kayak. I’m considering the squamish in kevlar. I tried it out last weekend in calm waters.

I’m a female 5’4 130 lbs and have been paddling for 5 years. Currently have Eddyline Equinox.

I’m a novice heading to intermediate paddler.

Paddle mostly bays and sounds.

best advice is to demo it, but
I tried a poly squamish last summer, I was looking for a smaller boat to my Explorer. I liked it generally but it didn’t feel particularly snug, and I’m 5’9" and 175". One of the things that made it feel roomy to me was the peaked deck. According to some of the reviews, it looks like the composite squamish is roomier.

Having said that, one could pad it out to fit more snugly, but I’m not sure it would have that glove-fit feel you might find in other boats.

So demo and consider price. If the jury is still out there are plenty of folks here who could recommend alternative models.

I’m your size
OK - five pounds heavier but I admit it.

I haven’t been in the Squamish, tho’ I’ve seen larger people than me fit it probably a little too well.

What have you looked at and what’s your budget? There are some good candidates out there for our size without your having to latch onto a boat early.

In the past month