Question: paddling and current

I’m a beginner paddling a Necky Manitou 13. I frequently paddle Budd Lake in Northern NJ, which is a shallow spring fed lake (largest natural lake in NJ!) that feeds the South Branch of the Raritan River. My experience has been that there is a slow current moving southwest, toward the outlet. The wind also often blows in this direction.

My question: why does it seem easier to paddle northeast against this current, and against the breeze? Is it because when I paddle against the current, which is very gentle (but enough to move a stationary kayak), there is less resistance on my paddle blade, since the force I apply moves in the same direction as the current? Could it be that I really am moving faster and more efficiently against the current and wind, or is it a physical and optical illusion caused by less fatigue and the passing current?

Should I always attempt to paddle against the current and breeze on lakes like this?

As a note, I’ll add that the Manitou is rudderless and weathercocks fiercely, even on mildly windy days.

Patrick

Get a GPS and check your true speed
going either direction.

It may just see like you’re going faster as paddling into the the waves can produce this sensation if you are only using the waves as a measure/perspective. Obviously, more waves will pass under your boat in a given period of time if you are paddling into them versus with them.

You need to know your speed over ground (SOG) to know for sure what’s going on. A GPS will tell you this.