Question, Re: Kayaking for Fitness

Hello all,

I’m new to the sport, and have been watching videos and reading books about kayaking technique. One of the books I’m reading, recommended here, is titled “Kayaking for Fitness”. The author of the book suggests that you find different levels of exertion, with a simple gauge being your heartbeat, breathing, and ability to talk.

I’m struggling to get my heartbeat up, and feel like if I try to “sprint” – paddle faster – I end up sacrificing form and not exercising my torso/core as I otherwise would.

I’ll try to explain what I mean… but first let me be clear that at 5’8" and 200# I would not describe myself as “atlethic” – so the heartbeat problem is clearly not that I have a low heartbeat (I get winded walking up two flights of stairs). I’m hoping to use kayaking as a re-introduction to a better and more balanced lifestyle that includes regular exercise.

At my regular pace, I think I’m taking one stroke every two seconds. There is a deliberate pause between strokes. I feel like I’m using my stomach muscles to power the stroke, and I’m pushing with the on-side leg. I kept up this pace this weekend for 60 minutes and wasn’t winded – but was definitely tired. (I was shocked, actually, at how sore my hamstrings were yesterday). In the parlance of the book, I consider this my “Zone 1” or easy pace.

As I pick up the pace, I feel like I need to flex my stomach more (maybe that’s artificial) and my stroke shortens a bit. I push more aggressively with my legs. I was deliberately breathing harder and more rapidly (i.e., controlled my exhaling to be timed with the power of my stroke as I would if I were lifting weights) but I don’t think my heartrate increased all that significantly, and when I stopped paddling I wouldn’t say I was winded. I would maybe say that I’m able to reach Zone 2 or Zone 3 while maintaining what I think is decent form.