Questions about my new kayak

I guess you could call me a novice paddler. I started 3 years ago and have paddled at least once a month, except the extreme cold midwest temps have prevented it this winter so far. I first bought a 10 foot Perception rec. kayak. I paddled large and small rivers, lakes and creeks in all sorts of weather conditions. After the first year I was wanting to upgrade, but was not willing at the time to invest a lot of money. Last year I came across a used 13’ Dagger Cypress with a rudder. I love it, but it was very heavy and wide,and in many aspects it was not that much of an upgrade. I enjoyed it and had it in rivers, creeks and lakes. I still had difficulty keeping up with the younger girls. I had been coveting a Necky Eliza for 2 years after I took a friend’s sea kayak out, and I finally found one on sale in Bloomington, IN. I originally was going to sell the 13’ with rudder, but as I began to read about the sea kayaks, now I am wondering if I should keep the Cypress. Because I love paddling rivers and creeks, will the sea kayak be a good boat for these waters? I am wondering if the shorter boat might be best for those conditions. Just wanted to ask a more experience paddler before I sell the other boat. Before I purchased the Eliza, I tried a friend’s sea kayak and it was an awesome experience on both a lake and a larger river, but I am wondering if there would be times when I would wish I had the 10’ or 13’ boat. Also, last summer I took a womens’ trip to northern Michigan. I took my 13’ kayak. This was before I purchased the Eliza. We did shallow rivers, large lakes and Lake Michigan. If we do this trip again, is the 15’ Necky versatile enough to be able to paddle in all those different types of waters? Please advise me. Thank you!

Deborah Walters

I could do all those waters in a 15’
Necky, which isn’t to say I would want to.