Quick comparison question

I probably won’t end up getting either, but was curious on opinions. I am visiting my wife’s family out of state and notice two kayaks close to me that are interesting. Both older but appear to be geared to larger people. The first is the dagger apostle. Not a lot of information about it. I know it was an imported kayak and does not seem to get a lot of discussion. It also has a metal tube running the length to add stiffness. It is also heavy at 69lbs. But is $450. Seems like one big complaint is the colors…
The other is a current designs storm gt. Again not much on here, at least not in the past 10 years. It is also a big heavy kayak close to the same size and weight as the dagger. Like the dagger it also has the metal tube for stiffness. I have read the metal can cause issues. The storm is listed for $800. I have no experience with either, but the current designs seems to make a really nice kayak. Again I am probably not going to pick up either of these two, but maybe I would get one of these at a later date, or maybe it will just be an interesting conversation. Would people buy either at that price if the conditions were the same? Is the CD more because it is better, or just because the dagger seems to not be as easy to sell?

For me, schlepping a 69 lb kayak around (or even the Storm at 64 lbs) would get old quickly.

1 Like

I hear that, and while i would like to have a 40lb kayak, I know that isn’t in the cards for me, and at least for now I am blessed with the ability to load a 70lb kayak above my head. This won’t always be the case

Good for you, and may you have that strength for many, many years.
My favorite kayak in that class (sort of) was an Old Town Cayuga 160 with their "Polylink 3 PE hull - 16 ft, 54 lbs, good stability, decent speed, and nice outfitting (comfy seat and useful thigh pads.

1 Like