Quinebaug River - Putnam to Brooklyn

No, not that Brooklyn… Brooklyn, CT.

With severe cold and a very early ice-up here in southern New England, it’s been over a month since I’ve been out paddling. Hiking is a good substitute, but I was anxious to get out in the boat again. With a warm weekend, and one of the local’s looking to paddle a section of the Quinebaug River in CT, I had my chance.

One of the first trips that I did with long-time P-netters Wickerbutt and Riverstrider was the Quinebaug River from Putnam to Dayville in CT. It was the spring of 2006. I had just bought my Yellowstone Solo, but was pretty much a complete newbie otherwise. That was the first of many great trips with those fine paddlers.

Since that first trip with Mike and Chuck, I have driven past the Quinebaug many times on my way to other rivers in CT. When I saw that Earl had posted a Quinebaug trip on one of the local message boards, I decided it was time to go back. We put-in in Putnam, but with the river at a nice level, decided to portage the Rogers Dam and extend the trip down to Brooklyn – about 11 miles. The take-out was still iced-in, but other than the ice and a long carry back to the cars, it was a great trip.

Ice at the take out

Few pictures and one video here:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/eckilson/albums/72157662841860097

I’m not sure whether to hold you in high esteem for paddling when it’s so cold or have you sent to an insane asylum.

Nice pictures.

@DrowningDave said:
I’m not sure whether to hold you in high esteem for paddling when it’s so cold or have you sent to an insane asylum.

Nice pictures.

Actually, it wasn’t all that cold yesterday - mid-50’s (but the water was in the low 30’s).

Looks like a wonderful January paddle. I envy you who live in a “temperate” climate. :slight_smile:

I’m hoping that the rivers will stay open now, but we ususally get our big freeze in February.