racing sea kayak

-- Last Updated: Mar-03-08 9:59 AM EST --

I have a QCC 10X and a Futura S1A surf ski. I am still learning the surf ski as it is just getting warm enough where I live to tip over and not freeze! :) I participate in a good many kayak races and I have used my QCC 10X up until now and done well. However, I think I have maxed out how fast I can go in it at around 6.0 mph. This doesn't tire me physically but the boat doesn't seem to go any faster. I have a good, efficient paddle stroke and strength (or so I have been told). I love the QCC. It is a great boat and very high quality. I would like to have the option of using a touring sea kayak or the surf ski (after I am used to it) depending on the race and conditions. I am thinking of looking for another, faster sea kayak. My 10X is 15'3" long, 21" wide, and about 42 pounds. I was looking at either the QCC 600X in carbon, the Epic 18X or the Epic Endurance 18. I am also considering the Kayakpro Nemo but I feel like I could find a used Epic or QCC a little easier than the Nemo. My only concern about the Epic is quality control issues. A friend of mine has an 18x and it is fast but he has had issues such as rudder lines breaking, issues with the seat, foam, etc. Not sure if these issues are just things he has experienced or if they are common. I'd like to be able to keep the 10X if possible for touring. I am female, 5'5" and about 120 pounds. Any recommendations or opinions?

www.westsideboatshop.com
Please check www.blackburnchallenge.com Check results and you will see the west side eft rules the 20 in wide sea kayak class in ocean races and USCA nationals 20 in wide class. Contact usca pam browning

Might not be any faster,