Rather specific paddle length question

Hello everyone,

I have just bought a Dagger Katana 10.4 and am 6ft. I plan to spend about 80% of my time in class I waters with the other percentage in class II and low class III. I tend to high angle paddle. This will be my first paddle and first kayak. (I have extensive experience in canoes)

General charts and consensus is that around 200cm for whitewater and 220/230cm for touring are ideal paddle lengths for measurements considered.

Which length paddle would you recommend? Should I just split the difference at 210cm? Should I just go with the 220/230 as I would paddle that the most and suffer through whitewater trips? Will it even make much of a difference to a beginner like me?

Thanks for any thoughts!

The charts you are looking at are for sea & rec kayaks I suspect. I am 6’1" and occasionally paddle a Liquid Logic Remix 10 (comparable to your Katana) in surf and similar WW conditions as you…and use a 197cm paddle (which often seems too long). Have you talked to any experienced paddlers in a WW shop about paddles since you will be paddling those conditions?

1 Like

Thanks for the response and taking the time to read. I just used Werner’s guides. These are the recommendations from them for both touring and whitewater conditions. Obviously these are considerably different measurements and understandably so. Hence my question.

I have not spoke to any professionals, that is what I am hoping to accomplish here.

For that boat and a relatively high angle paddle stroke, a 200 cm long paddle should be plenty long enough.

1 Like

I am 6’ tall, and began paddling low angle with a 230, then dropped to 220, which seemed about right. I switched to the high angle style with a 210. It felt a little short, and moved to a 215, which seems right for me. At 6’, I have a tall back and sit fairly high up out of the Tempest 170 at 215 lbs and a 32" inseam.