Re-entry from water

Newbie here, been getting out on water as much as possible this fall. Been surfing the net for as much education as I can get also. Found a video for re-entry into kayak where woman used paddle float, laid on her back in the water along side kayak with arms stretched across paddle then lifted far leg up and over and corkscrewed herself back into kayak. Now that I want to share this video with my girlfriends, I can’t find it. Can anyone help?

search for…
paddle float heel hook

heel hook
Thanks, found it. That’s the terminology I needed. Kathi Morrison’s technique is just a bit different in that she lays on her back rather than facing boat and lifting leg in.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMghCzD-85o

self rescue
Better yet, go practice some wet exits and re-entries. Then try them in rough water.

We Made Up Our Own
I don’t know if it works for a woman’s physiology but ours was reliable and simpler. You start from the same position as the Youtube lady but then you:

stay on your back.

put both feet in the boat.

grab the far coaming with your left hand.

grab the paddle shaft out near the float with your right.

pull with your left/ push down with your right and hoist your butt in the seat.

No corkscrew motion.

(But then you learn to roll and you don’t have to fool with any of that stuff.)

Yep
I do the heel-hook the same way, face-up the whole time. I think the corkscrew motion just complicates it.

Cowboy scramble
Google it. No paddle float required. Just good to have more than one tool in the bag.

Heel hook/paddle float
I have tried this one, was very surprised how easy it was. Nailed it on the first try.

I don’t think it would work for most women to put both feet in the cockpit at one time because of leg length - it would turn into a high strength butt lift rather than the very low stress entry from the heel hook. You get a lot of mechanical advantage with that corkscrew motion.

w/ or w/out paddlefloat, I agree