ready to buy?

-- Last Updated: Aug-16-06 7:54 AM EST --

Novice here wanting to purchase kayaks for husband and me.

Our stats:
me - 60 years - 4'11' 130lbs (total knee replacement and osteoporosis but don't let it stop me so far)

husband 63 years - 5 ' 5" 145lbs (very good health and strength)

both have small feet (grin)

Flatwater kayaking bug has bitten...

We've rented kayaks 4 times in last 4 weeks or so...

SOT rented for 24 hours and kayaked 3 times in Sarasota Sound and Tampa Bay Florida.

Old Town Loon tandem at river outfitter and did a six mile paddle/float in 2 hours. Little Miami River (river neither high nor low)

2 Perception Swiftys from outfitter in Butler KY...did 6 mile paddle 2 hours and 10 minutes...(mostly paddling cause river was slow and so were boats and boaters...grin.) Licking River.

2 Old Town Otter Tandems that we used as solos on Acton Lake in Oxford Ohio...out for 2 hours and boy we were bushed...lugging those boats around...grin. Did 5 miles.

OK...we're thinking of buying something in this range...

Perception Carolinas
P&H Easkys
Liquid Logic Pisgah
Dagger Spectors

We think 14-16 footers.

We had originally been looking at Element for me and BlackWater for husband but outgrew that notion. Do we need to go further up the scale to touring instead of rec/short trips boats or with our age and condition and wanting to do mostly flatwater and not more than eventual 6 to 8 hour trips AT MOST are we in our niche with those boats listed?

Thanks ahead for any serious answers or suggestions we may receive.

Questions
What do you mean by “outgrew that notion”? Does that mean you decided that staying more rec type would be fine?