Rec kayaks in South puget sound

Just got an old town vapor 10 from work with a splash deck, any areas in South puget sound that would be ok for some light fishing, maybe crab pots? I am new to kayaking and definitely want to keep myself on the safer side, I’ve read some other posts and it seems the general consensus is a no go. I was thinking harbors and inlets

Can’t speak to Puget Sound but…
Inlets are often where the strongest current is. Worst place to be in a small rec boat. Harbors, some are ok with speed bumps around and some working harbors work out best for all concerned if you go into or out of them. Not hang around. You are wise to seek local knowledge.

Agree
Currents are no joke, and remember our water stays around 48 degrees year-round. Where are you exactly?

not a good idea
That boat is too small and lacks any safety features whatsoever for open cold coastal water. It’s designed for shallow, warm inland ponds and slow creeks.

You would not take a tricycle onto an interstate highway. And you don’t take a 10’ rec boat into Puget Sound.

Reasons?

1. cockpit is too large to support a spray skirt that won’t implode with water pooled on it (a half deck is almost worse than nothing at all)

2. the boat has no bulkheads and if swamped or capsized will fill with water and sink and you would be unable to climb back in. Stuffing flotation bags in the stern and bow would help, but nothing is going to make this boat “safe” for that environment anyway. By the way, if you are going to paddle it anywhere, even in a pond, you should add float bags. That’s a $50 to $100 expense.