Rec to Touring Kayak Advice

I have been Kayaking for about 18 months. I have graduated from a Carolina 14 with Rudder, and got a great deal on a Necky Chatham 18, due to the owner moving. I live in Puget Sound region, and wanted to start making trips around the San Juans, once I got my skills improved. However every time I take out the Chatham 18, its low initial stability, throws me for a loop. I have probably spent 12-15 hours in the boat now, and it seems to me I sweat bullets the entire time; that i would lose it and baptize myself in the most beautiful Kayaking region of the world. My question is there better initial stability in a WS tempest, or Explorer. I want to develop better skills, but I think I am gun shy in the Chatham at this time.

Also are there any balance exercises out there to help with Kayaking?

Thanks in Advance!

Seat Time
24.5in to 20in is a fairly substantial step down in width. It might just take more time in the seat to get used to it. If you are persistent, you’ll eventually get there though.

As for things to help, you could build a “kayak balance stool” to help improve your balance while not in the kayak, but time in the actual kayak is more meaningful.

I would just take your time practicing basic things like braces, edging and whatnot in a safe area. It will help you learn the personality of the kayak and improve your confidence in it at the same time.

I have a 22in kayak and a 19.5in kayak. When I bought the 19.5in one, I probably felt similar to how you feel now. I stuck with it though and have slowly become more confident in it. Actually recently I’m starting to feel like the 22in kayak is too stable, hard to edge and not as much fun as the 19.5in kayak.

I would say that you should give it some more time before you give up on it.

Several ideas

– Last Updated: Jun-24-15 8:51 AM EST –