Recommend a kayak for light paddler

-- Last Updated: Dec-28-11 4:18 PM EST --

I am in the market for a new kayak. I have been paddling for a couple of years. My first boat was a P&H Capella 166 RM. I found this boat to be a bit too big for me. Not necessarily in length, but it just didn't fit right. At times I felt that the front deck was a bit too high and just felt cumbersome.

I would like to find a better fitting boat in the 15-17' range and am looking for some suggestions. I am 6', 130 lbs. It's tough to find jeans that fit, let alone a kayak.

Any suggestions? So far, the Tempest 165 and Venture Easky 15lv are on my radar.

I paddle a lot of tidal tributaries off of the Chesapeake Bay as well as the Bay itself. Mostly flat water but the bay can get rough at times.

Other possibilities
Impex Force 3

CD Suka

Aquanaut LV (composite)

Avocet RM

thanks
Thanks. I should mention that I want a plastic boat. I’d tear up a composite boat.

Consider a skin-on-frame
In the construction process the boat is modified to fit the intended paddler perfectly. They are very light and very tough. You would be hard pressed to “tear one up”. You can build one yourself by attending one of the several workshops or you can order one built for you.

Maybe…
the smaller Alchemy by Dagger. You’d probably have to move the seat back some to be able to use the footpegs… or do away with footpegs and put some foam at the bulkhead.

one vote for the Easky
I think you’ll be pleased with the Easky 15LV if you decide to go that way. I’ve had one for a couple of years and have greatly enjoyed the boat, very versatile and great in rough water (as you already know from your prior experience with P & H designs). Honestly, it was an impulse purchase for me-- caught my eye at a local shop, I tried it out and was sold.