Recreational Kayak for a big guy

I am a novice kayaker looking to purchase a recreational kayak mainly for lakes and slow moving rivers. I am 6’5" and 270# and I am haivng trouble finding a kayak suitable for me. After much review and have 2 kayaks in mind including the Pungo 120 and the Cureent Designs Breeze, both of which have been recommended by a kayak dealership. I live about 5 hours away from the nearest dealer so can’t actually sit in them to see how they fit. Could anyone give me some info on either boat, good or bad, to help me make my decision. Thanks for your help.

Regards,

Dion

Perception America?
This boat seems to be made for a larger paddler. It has a large cockpit and is a decent recreational boat. i haven’t paddled those boats you’ve mentioned so i guess I’ll defer to others on those.

Tarpon 160
try it… I am 6’3" 250 and it fits me fine.

Smaller boat!
Thanks for the replies but I am looking for a smaller boat, less than 14’. Thanks again.

Dion

Sundance, Pungo, Swifty
I would recommend any of the three. Sundance comes in various sizes including 9.5, like the Swifty. All have large cockpits, all would hold you nicely. (My brother paddles a Swifty and he’s over 240.)

Perception Sundance 12’
A friend of mine has the Airalite version of this boat. He is a pretty big guy, about 6’ and 250# and the boat has plenty of room for him, The cockpit is very large so no cramped leg feeling at all. Plus I think it only weighs in at around 45#.

big guy yak
i’m #300 . i use a perception sierra 11’ for fishing and some whitewater. it turns easily but tracks straight without any windcocking on flat water at all. i have 9 yaks, and two are the sierra. it was recently reintroduced as the america 11…mikey

Necky Manitou
Try out the new Necky Manitou! Very good tracking boat and I believe the cockpit would be large enough for you. Check out the specs at their website!

Why
a smaller boat? Big guys Need big boats…

OK. Tarpon 140.