recs on lightweight rain jacket

Looking for recommendations on lightweight waterproof/breathable packable rain jackets for backpacking. What do you use, and why do you like it?

LOTS of choices
i currently havein my closet:

a gore pac-lite shell

a EMS system III shell

a gore Proshell (new stuff available in the fall-i work as a gear tester for a bunch of different companies) prototype…

the proshell is the newest gore technology…love the jacket…and it weighs 12oz…

my first grabbed tho is the system III jacket from EMS…i can beat the crap out of it and not worry if i hurt it…haevyweight but that is fine for me in the winter…

summer the two gore pieces will be the chosen ones…

anysort of b-packing/traveling the proshell will be the choice since it is so light and comfy…

r

marmot
lightweigh shell, no lining, pit zips, taped seams, legendary reliability and service

I too use a Marmot. It’s the Precip
and is very compact and lite. It performs great. I keep it rolled up in the daypak that goes everywhere I go.

Precip…
can’t beat it’s functionality.

Skanorak
I bought a Skanorak last spring to use as a splash jacket. It works well for that. Because it looks for the most part like a normal jacket, I took it on a wet hiking trip to Cape Breton last summer - it worked extremely well as a breathable jacket, and was roomy enough to go over the top of a knapsack in a brief downpour (it’s meant to be able to go over a pfd, if necessary). Anyway, it’s turned out to be a good double duty paddling/hiking garment (good as it cost too much). Compared to some rain gear it doesn’t stow quite as small, but it has a hood and splash cuffs, fleece handwarmers, etc. In a previous thread people have mentioned that it’s currently on clearance for 50% off or more at several online retailers.

marmot