Refinishing help etc....

I have just started to sand down the woodwork on my merlin II due to poor storage the last 2 months (rain,humidity,stupidity…) small dark moldy spots appeared on some parts of the ash gunnels. I store her on a rack which is covered with a tarp the canoe is free from being touched by the tarp and rests on 2 horizontal padded 2x4’s inside the tentlike structure allowing air to circulate and does not get wet directly. AAAAnnyway…

Is there anything I can do to eliminate the moldy

spots other then sanding. Mabe a lite bleach or ??? I just dont want to take off too much wood, Would’ve liked to just remove the old Watco and hope the spots would be gone but not so lucky.

Also,After sanding and or treating should I clean the wood with alcohol to remove dust etc prior to applying the fresh coats of Watco. I’m new at refinishing wood. Thanks for any help. Ed…

boating supply store
There’s some stuff you can pick up at boating supply stores that is made for cleaning woodwork on boats. I think I picked some up at a BoatUS or West Marine, but any boating store should have some.

Ah’ always sanded stains out

– Last Updated: Sep-12-07 10:24 PM EST –

if they not be inta de end grain, but yer might try a wood brightener made for decks an' fences; or a diluted wood bleach made for wood floors.

Ah's used dis stuff in de past wit pretty good results.

http://www.dap.com/product_details.aspx?product_id=324

Here be a possible source of information...

http://antiquerestorers.com/Articles/jeff/using_wood_bleach.htm

FE

Bleach and Naptha
Yes bleach often works to remove mildew spots on wood. Naptha is a good, fast-drying cleaning solvent for wood.