Refurbishing an old Woodlands(?) 13” canoe

(upload://fRs7wYxJtP8Kh2nQyomGDR8atW6.jpeg)
Hello fellow paddlers!

newbie here as i have done a bit
of kayaking and canoeing in my 44 years but not a ton. interested in getting more into it as psychiatrist says i need to exercise and reduce stress. I have 2 good kayaks i use (a pelican and a swifty) but now i have this ridiculous idea that i want to canoe more. I found this old 13’ aluminum canoe for $125. brand is Woodland which I cannot find even exists after a Google search. it needs to be repainted, likely sealed and it’s completely missing seats yoke and thwarts. attached are pics

so is this canoe salvageable? I want a project and want to paint it fun colors as i’m an artsy person by nature but I have no idea how to install seats yokes thwarts

So questions are: is this doable? is it worth it? what should i look for when i go see it? and can this old canoe even be salvaged? guess on total cost of project also welcomed.

thanks for helping an old mama out!!

Leah

I think you could bring it back if you want a project. It also needs gunwales along with the other items you noted. The other parts you need can be made or purchased. I made my thwarts from old aluminum tent poles I happened to have around that I cut to length and then smashed the ends flat in a vise. I fit them to the boat and then clamped them under the gunwales and drilled the thwart and gunwale together and then used special washers and flat head screws and lock nuts to bolt them in. The single seat location you will have to figure out to get the boat to balance properly and the seat wants to be lower than the thwarts. I bought a stadium seat back from walmart and fit it in hanging from the gunwales on a DIY frame I made. I have a thread I started showing how I built most of it on a shoestring budget.

IMO getting the gunwales on will be the biggest part of the project.

By the way I paddle mine with a kayak paddle.